100 Day Challenge – Days 18, 19, and 20

I’ve been getting a little lax about telling the world about how my 100 Day Challenge is going and I can already see some negative effects from that. I find myself feeling really unmotivated to work out today, at least partly because I’ve started to lose that feeling that there are people watching who will notice if I slack off. I’m going to make a fresh effort to blog about (or Facebook, Twitter, whatever) each day until the end.

As for my recent sweating: last Friday (Day 18), I rode a bike for about a half hour. I got about 5.1 miles in. I tried a reclining stationary bike instead of the more traditional kind just to see if it was any better or worse. I found it to be less of a workout than the normal stationary bike. It might have targeted some of my leg muscles a little more directly, but I didn’t feel too tired after pedaling 5 miles.

On Saturday (Day 19), I went back to the gym and got back on the regular stationary bike. I did 5.5 miles in about a half hour. I was using the built-in heart rate monitor to let the bike control the resistance for hard and easy intervals, but it kept telling me to slow down! I guess my poor heart is not very good at getting back to resting pace very quickly. I kind of feel like I can do more than the bike’s program wants me to do, though. Next time I use the bike, I think I’m going to try a different program or just manual control.

Yesterday (Day 20), I did a nontraditional form of exercise–clearing the snow from our driveway and sidewalk. Even though we have a snowblower, it is still a fair amount of work to push that thing up and down the sidewalk, turn it around, and so on. In the past, I’ve felt a bit wiped out after clearing the snow, but yesterday I still felt pretty good afterward. I think I’m starting to see some results of this crazy daily exercise plan!

I have not yet done any sort of exercise today. When my alarm went off at 5, I just could not face the thought of getting out of bed. I had only been asleep for 3 or 4 hours at that point, as I had had some homework due late Sunday night. Now I’m stuck at home with the kids and no vehicle to transport them. Hopefully I can find some time to hit the gym after my wife gets home from work or maybe after dinner. I certainly can’t just take a walk around the neighborhood, as the North Pole seems to have taken up permanent residence over Michigan. I want to exercise, but I don’t want my exposed skin to fall off!

Leave a Reply

